Eva Marszewski ’73 is one of four winners of York’s 2019 Bryden Alumni Awards



Document Type

News Article

Publication Date



Now in its 19th year, the Bryden Alumni Awards celebrate outstanding York University alumni who have achieved the extraordinary and made remarkable contributions to their fields, communities and the University. The leaders who will be honoured on Nov. 21 at a celebration at Arcadian Court are:

  • Eva Marszewski (OOnt, LSM, BA ’70, LLB ’73), founder and director, Peacebuilders International (Canada);
  • Robert Krembil (CM, MBA ’71, LLD ’00), president and CEO, Chiefswood Holdings Ltd. and its subsidiaries;
  • Suzanne Katsi’tsiarihshion Brant (MES ’05), president, First Nations Technical Institute; and
  • Kimberly Badal (BSc ’12) co-founder, Caribbean Cancer Research Initiative.

“This year’s Bryden Alumni Award recipients illustrate the achievements and impact that York University alumni have locally and internationally,” said Jeff O’Hagan, vice-president advancement. “Like the honourees in previous years, our 2019 recipients set an example for students and alumni, and remind us of the change that is possible with a York University degree. We look forward to celebrating them at the awards ceremony this fall.”

There are four categories of Bryden Alumni Awards, each of which honour a distinct set of achievements and contributions.

Outstanding Achievement

An alumnus or alumna who has achieved distinction in their field and whose integrity and ability inspire alumni, faculty, staff and students.

Eva Marszewski

Eva Marszewski is passionate about restorative justice and creating more just and peaceful communities that support youth to succeed. She started running restorative justice programs for youth in Toronto in 2002. Marszewski studied at York University, completing degrees in the Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies as well as Osgoode Hall Law School. She is a former adjunct professor at Osgoode Hall Law School, where she taught the course Law and Social Change: Restorative Justice. Marszewski was one of the founders of the SPIDR youth initiative and YouCAN! She was a member of the Board of Directors of the Association for Conflict Resolution and the executive of the Ontario Bar Association, ADR Section. Marszewski is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the Smart Justice Network of Canada.

For her pioneering work in adapting peacebuilding circles to Toronto’s diverse communities, Marszewski was awarded the prestigious Law Society Medal from the Law Society of Upper Canada, the YMCA Peace Medallion in 2006, the Canadian Criminal Justice Association Crime Prevention Award in 2007 and the Dianne Martin Medal for Social Justice Through Law in 2009. Marszewski became a Fellow of the Ashoka Foundation in 2010 and was the first recipient of the Roy McMurtry Community Service Award in 2013. Marszewski was awarded the 2015 Order of Ontario, which is the province’s highest official honour, recognizing her individual excellence and achievement in restorative justice. In 2019, Marszewski’s career contributions were recognized by the Ontario Bar Association with an Award for Distinguished Service.