Osgoode finishes second in the Davies Annual Corporate/Securities Law Moot

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date



On March 8 and 9, students from 13 law schools across Canada convened in Toronto to compete in the 29th annual Davies Corporate/Securities Law Moot. Recognized as the leading event of its kind in Canada, the moot provides an opportunity for top Canadian law students to debate current issues in corporate and securities law before distinguished panels of judges from the judiciary and the legal and business communities.

This year’s problem, which was set against the leafy backdrop of the growing Canadian cannabis industry, considered the circumstances in which an issuer may be liable to secondary market investors for failure to disclose material changes or to disclose that financial forecasts may no longer be realized.

The top two teams competed in a final round before a five-member panel comprising The Honourable Robert Armstrong, former justice of the Ontario Court of Appeal; The Honourable Mr. Lucien Bouchard, PC, GOQ, Ad.E.; The Honourable Justice Kathryn Feldman of the Court of Appeal for Ontario; The Honourable Justice Siobhan Monaghan of the Tax Court of Canada, a Davies alumna; and Mr. Grant Vingoe, Vice-Chair of the Ontario Securities Commission.

The top prizes went to the following:


  1. University of Toronto – Thomas Collins-Cook, Thomas Feore, Daryna Kutsyna and Hesam Wafaei
  2. Osgoode Hall Law School – Connor Campbell, Devon Kapoor, Nazish Mirza, Andrew Tebbi and Alice Wang
  3. McGill University – Jessica Cytryn, Dylan Gibbs, Pierre-Gabriel Grégoire and Wei Bin Tan


  1. University of Ottawa
  2. Queen’s University
  3. McGill University and University of Toronto


  1. Daryna Kutsyna, University of Toronto
  2. Rowan LeCasse, University of Saskatchewan
  3. Yan Lu, Dalhousie University

Congratulations to all the students and their coaches for another successful moot.