Brian J. Burke


Indigenous peoples--Land tenure; Canada

Document Type



In R. v. Adams and Delgamuukw v. British Columbia, the Supreme Court of Canada made statements to the effect that certain historically nomadic Aboriginal groups may be unable to make out a claim for Aboriginal title under section 35(1) of the Constitution Act, 1982. In light of the anthropological evidence relating to the close connection some of these groups enjoyed with the lands they occupied, a serious injustice may arise if these groups are indeed barred from an Aboriginal title claim. The author attempts to correct this potential injustice by demonstrating that at least some of these historically nomadic groups could meet the exclusive occupation test for Aboriginal title developed in Delgamuukw. As an alternative solution, the author proposes an additional test to facilitate proof of Aboriginal title for deserving historically nomadic groups that might otherwise be precluded from claiming such title.

French Abstract

Dans les décisions R. c. Adams et Delgamuukw c. Colombie-britannique, la Cour suprême du Canada a laissé entendre que certains groupes historiquement nomades seraient possiblement incapables de réclamer un titre aborigène en vertu du paragraphe 35(1) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. À la lumière de preuves anthropologiques supposant des liens proches de ces groupes aux terres qu'ils occupaient, une grave injustice serait commise s'ils étaient incapables de faire une réclamation de titre aborigène. L'auteur tente de corriger cette injustice potentielle en démontrant qu'au moins quelques groupes historiquement nomades pourraient satisfaire au test d'occupation exclusive énoncé dans la décision Delgamuukw pour réclamer un titre aborigène. En alternative, l'auteur propose un test additionnel pour faciliter la preuve de titre aborigène pour les groupes historiquement nomades méritants qui seraient autrement empêchés de réclamer un tel titre.

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 4.0 License.