Guide to Caribbean Law Research

Document Type


Publication Date



The Commonwealth Caribbean describes all Caribbean countries geographically located in the West Indies. The region is made up of dependent and independent states. Caribbean legal literature has evolved rapidly in the last decade. This guide provides information on available resources for conducting legal research for the following English-speaking Caribbean countries:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Belize
  • British Virgin Islands (BVI)
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • St. Kitts & Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent & the Grenadines
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turks & Caicos

The Internet and the digital age have improved access to legal information of Caribbean jurisdictions. Legal literature considered includes legislation, law reports, journals and textbooks.