Professor David Vaver elected to the Royal Society of Canada

Document Type


Publication Date



The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) has elected four York University professors to its ranks as Fellows, and one professor as a member of the RSC’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

The University’s newest members of the RSC are Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies (LA&PS) Professors Wenona Giles and Joan Judge, School of the Arts, Media, Performance & Design (AMPD) Professor Paul Sych, and Osgoode Hall Law School Professor David Vaver. Lassonde School of Engineering Professor John Moores has been named a member of the RSC’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

“York is delighted to see that Professors Wenona Giles, Joan Judge, Paul Sych and David Vaver have been recognized by the Royal Society of Canada, as Fellows; and Professor John Moores as a College Member,” said Robert Haché, vice-president Research & Innovation. “This reflects the fact that York is home to distinguished researchers and academics from all branches of academia who have made remarkable contributions in the arts, the humanities and the sciences, and Canadian public life.”

David Vaver, Osgoode Hall Law School, is one of the world’s preeminent scholars of intellectual property law. His pioneering work on “user rights” and the public interest has brought fairness and balance to Canada’s intellectual property system. The prolific author of many acclaimed books, edited collections, and peer-reviewed articles, his scholarship is relied on as persuasive authority by courts and lawmakers, while his teaching and mentorship have nurtured many leading minds in the field.