Professor Janet Walker presented with the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (Canada) Distinguished Service Award

Document Type


Publication Date



Janet Walker, an arbitrator and professor at York University’s Osgoode Hall Law School, was recognized with the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (CIArb) Distinguished Service Award on Sept. 20.

The award was presented by global CIArb president James Bridgeman and CIArb Canada patron Beverley McLachlin during an event hosted by the CIArb Canadian branch.

Walker spoke about the development of arbitration in Canada and its potential as “a world-class arbitral seat,” and provided insights into a forthcoming safe seat index compiled by GAR and CIArb.

“It is an honour to be recognized for contributions that I have made to collective initiatives to develop and promote international commercial arbitration in Canada,” she said.

During her talk, she gave a history of the Canadian international commercial arbitration community beginning in 2000, when she was admitted to the roster of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce (ICC) Canadian National Committee. At that time, it was the only permanent national professional organization dedicated to international arbitration, and she was one of just 32 members – of which only two were women.

Walker has a degree from Osgoode and doctorate in law from Oxford University; admission to the Bar of Ontario; and teaching posts all over the world. She’s also been the editor of a guide to Canadian conflicts of law for 15 years.